Notre Dame Hallmarks

“What makes our school a Notre Dame school?”

The Notre Dame de Namur Learning Community Hallmarks describe the essential characteristics, values, and activities of a Notre Dame learning community (i.e., school or university). The seven Hallmarks are followed by supporting statements that add meaning.

The Notre Dame Hallmarks emerged in response to the question from both the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur and their co-workers: "What makes our school a Notre Dame school?"

The Notre Dame Hallmarks:

Hallmark One: We proclaim by our lives even more than by our words that God is good.
Hallmark Two: We honor the dignity and sacredness of each person.
Hallmark Three: We educate for and act on behalf of justice and peace in the world.
Hallmark Four: We commit ourselves to community service.
Hallmark Five: We embrace the gift of diversity.
Hallmark Six: We create community among those with whom we work and with those we serve.
Hallmark Seven: We develop holistic learning communities that educate for life.